PM Dahal wins vote of confidence

The Annapurna Express

The Annapurna Express

PM Dahal wins vote of confidence

Prime Minister and CPN (Maoist Center) Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal won the vote of confidence on Tuesday, garnering 268 votes in the 275-member strong House of Representatives (HoR). Only two votes were cast against Dahal.

One lawmaker each of Rastriya Janamorcha and Nepal Workers and Peasants Party voted against Dahal.

Senior member of the House of Representatives Pashupati Shumsher JB Rana said that the Parliament had a vote of confidence as the majority was in the favor of the vote of confidence submitted by Prime Minister Dahal in the House of Representatives as per Article 76 (2) of the Constitution of Nepal.

Nepali Congress, CPN-UML, CPN (Maoist Center), Rastriya Swatantra Party, Rastriya Prajatantra Party, Janata Samajbadi Party, CPN (Unified Socialist), Nagarik Unmukti Party, Janamat Party, and Democratic Socialist Party and independent lawmakers Amresh Singh and Yogendra Mandal voted in favor of PM Dahal.

Dahal needed 138 votes for majority.

He became prime minister with the support of seven political parties including the CPN-UML and two independent lawmakers.

According to the constitution, the Prime Minister has to get the vote of confidence from the House within 30 days after the appointment.

Dahal was appointed as the prime minister on December 25.


icon close
News Roadblock Ad (Always Use This to Change News Block ad)News Roadblock Ad (Always Use This to Change News Block ad)